Unintentionally Hilarious Thai Signs

Unintentionally Hilarious Thai Signs

Thai is not an easy language to read. It looks like this: สวัสดีคะฉันชื่อขอบคุณคะ คุณชื่ออะไร With no space between words, punctuation, or capital letters, it is very difficult to read and write, so one can understand why Thai signs in English don’t always make sense. The wonderful thing is sometimes they are inadvertently comical.

This cracked me up. I looked, and sure enough the old man was there. I was non-verbally urged not to take a picture of his grumpy face by someone near him.

This cracked me up. I looked, and sure enough the old man was there. I was non-verbally urged not to take a picture of his grumpy face by someone near him.

In the bathroom at a cafe, we are reminded that flushing paper down the toilet really stucks.

In the bathroom at a cafe, one is reminded that flushing paper down the toilet really stucks!

While at the cafe, a glance at the menu is an easy source of humor.

Yes, two orders of dragon feet please. While you're at it, throw in a unicorn horn.

Yes, two orders of dragon feet please. While you’re at it, throw in a unicorn horn.

Mmmm the greassy salad please

Mmmm the greassy salad, please

Excuse me, do you have any human sized prawns?

Excuse me, do you have any human sized prawns? Because that doesn’t look like something out of a horror film.

I don't know, maybe some cervid would be nice for dinner tonight.

I don’t know, maybe some cervid would be nice for dinner tonight.

Oooh, I’m stuffed. Moving right along…

...and just out of the comfort zone...

…and just out of the comfort zone…

What have we here? A stamp pad or tampon?

What have we here? A stamp pad or tampon?

Really?

Really?

or, on second thought, screw the planet!

or, on second thought, screw the planet!

Found in the baking area of the grocery store…

I'm thinking about making some cookies...

I’m thinking about making some cookies…

Forget about the cookies, I'll detox.

Forget about the cookies, I’ll detox.

...and have an enema.

…and have an enema. Really though, if you saw this cute little chef drawing and couldn’t read the package, wouldn’t you put this enema set in the baking section?

Why not integrate with banana?

Why not integrate with banana too?

Leaving the store and going outside….

Ducking crossing

Duck crossing

Dangeraus - warning or reggae band?

Dangeraus – warning or reggae band?

Everyday does not mean Wednesday.

Everyday does not mean Wednesday.

Seen on the minivan that took our students on a field trip. Thankfully no one asked what OK meant.

Seen on the minivan that took our students on a field trip. Thankfully no one asked what OK meant.

IMG_4041

I live on a soi off this street, which I've seen spelled at least 5 different ways, but this one is the worst. Seepingmuang - street or rare skin disease?

I live on a soi off this street, which I’ve seen spelled at least 5 different ways, but this one is the worst. Seepingmuang – street or rare skin disease?

After all this, I needed a drink. Unfortunately,

IMG_3617

Penalty 6 Mouths

Penalty 6 Mouths

If after the alcohol you have a headache, Duran Duran to the rescue!

If after the alcohol you have a headache, Duran Duran to the rescue!

My very favorite of the bunch…

IMG_4044

Really, take some time and re-read it. It’s a gem!

Why I'm here

Why I’m here

I'm still happy in Thailand just about everywhere.

I’m still happy in Thailand just about everywhere.

More to come!

For more see: Humorous Signs in Thailand

2 thoughts on “Unintentionally Hilarious Thai Signs

  1. I think we could write a book on this there are so many. Here’s another to amuse. There’s a temple in Rawai called ‘WAT SAWANGK’!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment