Humorous Signs in Thailand

Humorous Signs in Thailand

Since I’ve been in Thailand, I’ve seen signs that have made me smile, laugh, or wonder what it was they were trying to say. Here is a sampling:

Let's start with cute graffiti

Let’s start with cute graffiti in Chiang Mai

What to order...hmm, how about Tokyo Aeademy

What to order…hmm, how about Tokyo Aeademy, or maybe League? Mama was funnier until I saw it a bunch of times – it’s a brand of instant noodles.

Here's a new food stall at Chiang Mai Gate - Fine Ease at Steak. No, they don't serve steak.

Here’s a new food stall at Chiang Mai Gate – Fine Ease at Steak. No, they don’t serve steak.

IMG_2974

Only deciduous trees, firs are prohibited in these parts

Only deciduous trees in this forest. Firs are prohibited in these parts.

Not Heineken, Mae Hong Son

Not Heineken, Mae Hong Son

IMG_0587

In a bathroom, looking down at you on the toilet

In a bathroom, looking down at you on the toilet

At a guesthouse

At a guesthouse

At another guesthouse...man, they just don't allow anything

At another guesthouse…man, they just don’t allow anything!

Why would you change from Chiangmai Garden to this?

Why would you change your name from Chiangmai Garden to this?

A reason people could be confused

A reason people could be confused

Why not?

Why not?

Oh dear!

Oh dear!

I wonder what they serve here?

I wonder what they serve here?

... Baby don't hurt me, don't hurt me, no more!

… baby don’t hurt me, don’t hurt me, no more!

In the bathroom, above the toilet

In the bathroom, above the toilet

Animal mummies

Animal mummies

Cute note from my student. Printed from her technological relic of the typewriter.

Cute note from my student. Printed from her technological relic of the typewriter.

Another attempt to encourage underage drinking

Another attempt to encourage underage drinking

IMG_2724

187% chocolate cake

187% ingredient chocolate cake

IMG_1697

Antarai!

Antarai!

It's nice they have a danger warning on this sign, but honestly, this looks more organized than most of the wiring in Chiang Mai

It’s nice they have a “danger” sign, but honestly, this looks more organized than most of the wiring in Chiang Mai.

This says, "No giants dumping trash in miniature toilets." (No, it doesn't)

This says, “No giants dumping trash in miniature toilets.” (No, it doesn’t)

Another bit of confusion

Another bit of confusion

No weapons...or ninjas

No weapons…or ninjas…

...or prostitutes

…or prostitutes

IMG_1968IMG_1877IMG_1684

Classic!

Classic!

This one is my all time favorite. Spaghetti vaggie.

This one is my all time favorite. Spaghetti vaggie.

To finish, a cute and very Thai truth, 'Smile is our way of life'

To finish, a cute and very Thai truth, ‘Smile is our way of life’

If you enjoyed these, let me know. There are plenty more to come.

3 thoughts on “Humorous Signs in Thailand

  1. Thanks for these! My particular favourite is the 187% ingredient cake – I’m quite used to seeing things In Thailand where less than 100% of the ingredients are listed, so anything extra is a bonus!

    • Thanks for the comment. I know what you mean. I just got some shampoo from a health food store that contains ‘coconut milk, water, ect’ that’s it 🙂

  2. Pingback: Unintentionally Hilarious Thai Signs | Land of Infinite Possibilities

Leave a comment