Quaint Fort Kochi

Quaint Fort Kochi

The bus from Munnar to Fort Kochi was much shorter than our previous bus trip…

IMG_2776

Super fast? Not really.

Super fast? Not really

Coffee beans drying on the side of the road

Coffee beans drying on the side of the road

…but I can’t say it was less eventful:

Thanks Lex for taking this video and cracking me up.

When arriving in Fort Kochi, we didn’t have a place to stay. I randomly picked somewhere that sounded nice from my guidebook while in the tuk tuk from the bus station. It’s safe to say that I chose well. Secret Garden was absolutely beautiful!

Secret Garden in Fort Kochi

Secret Garden in Fort Kochi

Lex drinking a poolside coffee

Lex enjoying a poolside coffee

Cooling off with a quick swim

Cooling off with a quick swim

We had no problem relaxing there for hours. In fact, we moved so little I asked Joseph, the lovely hotel manager, if we were the laziest guests ever. He said no, but I’m not so sure about that.

Strolling through town, we stumbled upon a cricket match

Later, while strolling through town, we stumbled upon a cricket match

I loved the enormous trees everywhere

I loved the enormous trees everywhere in Fort Kochi

 

IMG_2820

We met up with these boys...

We met up with these boys…

...who immediately befriended Lex

…who immediately befriended Lex

Sculpture park by the water

Painted living tree sculpture by the water

Chinese fishing nets

Chinese fishing nets

One of our best meals in Kerala - Fish with Kerala spices cooked in banana leaf, veg. curry, and fried okra.

One of our best meals in Kerala – fish with Kerala spices cooked in banana leaf, veg. curry, and fried okra

The next morning I had a yoga class here under the mango tree at Secret Garden

The next morning, I attended a yoga class here under the mango tree at Secret Garden

At breakfast we observed this guy doing some tree pruning

At breakfast we observed this guy pruning trees

Early that afternoon, unfortunately, it was time to say goodbye to Lex. We had had a fantastic few weeks together. I’m so grateful that he changed his plans and traveled with me. We’ve spoken about seeing each other again as soon as possible. He left for Canada, and the next day I would return to Thailand…but I still had a bit of time to explore.

Feeling a bit sad with Lex not there, I was pleased that this is the first person I met

Feeling a bit sad with Lex not there, I was pleased that this was the first person I met

Gorgeous sunset in Fort Kochi

Gorgeous sunset in Fort Kochi

with or without a filter

with or without a filter

at any angle

at any angle

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I enjoyed some aromatherapy at an oranic spice shop

Enjoying some aromatherapy at an organic spice shop

Secret Garden felt a little empty without Lex

Secret Garden felt a little empty without Lex

For my last morning in India, after yoga and breakfast, I cycled over to the another town called Mattancherry. There wasn’t much time to explore, or I’d miss my train. Plus, I wanted to do some last minute shopping, as well as receive an ayurvedic shirodhara treatment. I raced around and snapped these pictures while drenched in sweat.

Mattancherry was dripping in color. What a fun place to have a camera!

IMG_2840

IMG_2839IMG_2838IMG_2841IMG_2844IMG_2842IMG_2846IMG_2847IMG_2850IMG_2851IMG_2852IMG_2854IMG_2857With my hair soaked in oil from the shirodhara treatment, I boarded the train bound for Trivandrum. On trains in India there are sections for women only, which remedies the constant staring of men. I didn’t see one of these sections, but sat with a family instead. No hassles at all.

Bye for now India. Thanks for providing me with vibrant memories. I’m sure our paths will cross again someday in the not too distant future. Now it’s time to get back to Thailand just in time for Songkran!

 

2 thoughts on “Quaint Fort Kochi

    • Thanks! Me too! I probably should have taken a video of the goats jumping around and playing. They were so cute, and I love that they were in the doorway where someone lives.

Leave a comment