Happy New Year 2014 or 2557

Happy New Year 2014 or 2557

Happy New Year 2014

Happy New Year 2014 or is it 2557? Western year or Buddha year?

2014 started on a beach in the south of Thailand and this was my first glimpse of the new year:

Bonfires were welcome due to the chill in the air.

Bonfires were welcome due to the chill in the air.

Is it possible to have a Thai holiday without fireworks? I don't think it is.

Is it possible to have a Thai holiday without fireworks? I don’t think it is.

On January first, walking down the beach I stumbled upon this:

It looks like nothing...

It looks like nothing…

...until you look at it from another perspective. Maybe that will be a theme for 2014 - looking at things from different points of view.

…until you look at it from another perspective. Maybe that will be a theme for 2014 – looking at things from different points of view.

I couldn't believe how many perfect tiny sand dollars there were.

I couldn’t believe how many perfect tiny sand dollars there were.

This kind of beach beauty...

This kind of beach beauty…

...inspires sunset yoga.

…inspires sunset yoga.

A bungalow...

A bungalow…

...with a view

…with a view

Solar panels should get plenty of power in this sunshine,

Solar panels should get plenty of power in this sunshine.

Unfortunately, I got the worst food poisoning I have ever had in Asia and was out of commission for about two days. I just took it as a New Year’s detox. Thankfully, a new friend, Charlie brought me soda water and electrolyte beverages. When I emerged from my bungalow, there were loads of butterflies to watch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I heard chanting and wondered where the closest wat was. No wat, but rather blessing the opening of a new beach restaurant.

In my exhausted state, I thought I heard monks chanting from my bungalow and wondered where the closest wat was. There was no wat, but rather blessing the opening of a new beach restaurant.

Hibiscus upon walking up to the village

Hibiscus upon walking up to the village

Another butterfly plant

Another butterfly plant

fSbYaCmclSDR09ijuJl65nsUVLdXKfsvUWKZ6JEEGLg

Butterflies, friendly dogs, and hammocks = happiness

Butterflies, friendly dogs, and hammocks = good medicine

Dan and Mila arrived just as I was getting better.

Dan and Mila arrived just as I was feeling better.

I met Dan on a beach in southern Thailand 14 years ago while playing frisbee in the water. We both lived in San Francisco, but wanted to move to Portland. After traveling in SE Asia, we both moved back to San Francisco. I then moved to Portland, and a few years later Dan did too. Now we’re back to how we met each other, on the beach in Thailand.

Dan continually sees the positive side to things, which makes it fun to spend time with him no matter how mundane the task. That said, some things are just fun, no matter how old you are…

...like a gigantic swing.

…like a gigantic swing

I could not stop laughing.

I could not stop laughing

IMG_1785

A new friend, Charlie, wanted to try it too.

Charlie wanted to try the enormous swing too.

Oh Thailand, I love you this much!

954503_10151889876889007_1639788771_n

6 thoughts on “Happy New Year 2014 or 2557

  1. Hey there! We will be visiting Thailand at the end of March – I am so excited to visit this place you obviously love so much. We plan on visiting Bangkok, Chang Mai, and Phuket. Do you have any recommendations for islands to visit in the south?

    • Hi Naomi,

      The end of March in Thailand will be hot!!! In Chiang Mai and anywhere in Northern Thailand, it will also be smoky. As far as islands go, it all depends on what you’re looking for. All have their charms as well as things that may not appeal. Read up about what you want to do and decide where has what you want.

    • Thanks! Do you mind if I reblog your Bruce Lee air quality post? I’ve been chuckling about it all day and want some of my friends to see it. The air quality here today wasn’t good, but it would make it a little better if Bruce Lee showed me to what degree.

  2. Hi

    Is this Ko Lanta? The reason I say that is because that dog you’re pictured with looks very much like the dog I befriended over several years on my visits to Ko Lanta. Awesome dog!

Leave a Reply

