The Relativity of Cold

The Relativity of Cold

Last night I stayed at my friend Yaya’s house. She insisted when I got there that I take a shower. I was so glad I did because it was one of the best pressure showers I have felt in all of Thailand. Waking up the next day, I looked forward to a shower, but I couldn’t quite get the heat I needed. I washed my hair and realized when I got out of the shower I was cold. No, really, it was kind of cold in Thailand. What is this? The weather has been getting cooler lately, but it’s been manageable. By cooler, it’s in the 60s (15 – 20 Celsius).

Riding my bike to school with a wet head, I was cold. I thought I’d warm up, but I didn’t. I was wearing a tank top, a t-shirt, a lightweight long-sleeved shirt, and a scarf. I was happy to have something warm to drink.

I have so many appreciations for my school. Today we took our students to the book fair at Chiang Mai University. The campus was so picturesque with the fall leaves. It was wonderful to see kids interested in books and delightful to see so many books in English and Thai. A funny little thing was seeing Yoga Journal magazine in Thailand, as I used to work there years ago.

Still don’t know what’s going to happen with Sombra. Shoot! I keep hoping for the best.

Leave a Reply

