Adventures to a Nam Tok and Wat Doi Suthep

Adventures to a Nam Tok and Wat Doi Suthep

It’s early October and I have more or less based myself in Chiang Mai while looking for jobs. The Thai schools will start their second semester at the end of this month, and my plan is to get a job starting by then.

After applying for jobs online, going to schools and dropping off résumés, and setting up interviews, I needed to have some fun. I met an American guy named Miles at breakfast one day who was here studying massage. We chatted about how there is wifi everywhere here. We laughed at the idea of there being a wifi wat.

Friday night there was a whole crew of us who boogied at the Reggae Bar. On Saturday, Miles rented a scooter and our mission was to go swim in a waterfall (nam tok) outside of Chiang Mai. I rode on the back of the motorbike and our adventure started and continued by eating a bunch of random food from the street vendors. As much as we’d like to think we are adventurous eaters, we couldn’t quite do this:

Maybe someday I’ll be able to handle the small ones, but not today.

After our waterfall adventures and hike, we decided we’d head up the windy windy road to Wat Doi Suthep. It had started to rain a little, but we didn’t care.

We arrived back in Chiang Mai after dark and exhausted. I felt like a tourist even though I kind of live here now. It doesn’t matter to me. There are a lot of interesting activities in and around Chiang Mai. I think I could spend years here and not get to all of them. Sometimes being a tourist is a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

