27

27

from 27/9/11

After a long weekend in Pai, I took an afternoon minibus back to Chiang Mai. I was sitting in the front seat next to a young Israeli guy who had spent some time in the US. I think almost everyone in the minibus (read: van) besides the driver and I, were traveling with him. It’s a four hour ride so we talked for a while. He was right next to me. It was the afternoon. I mention all these seemingly pointless details because then this happened:

“How old are you Elizabeth?”

“How old do you think I am?” I responded.

“27?”

“Did you say twenty seven?” I said in disbelief while grinning from ear to ear.

“Yeah.”

“Um, no. I’m older than that. How old are you?”

“24.”

He was not trying to flatter me, that’s really how old he thought I was. He seriously thought I was a mere 3 years older than him. I did tell him he was only 14 years off. This honestly made my day.

This picture was taken the day before the bus ride. 27? Really? Thanks Israeli guy.

27??

PS I know this photo is in soft focus, but his eyes weren’t in soft focus! I’m going to get a new camera back in Chiang Mai.

Leave a Reply

