Bangkok from the Sublime to the Ridiculous

Bangkok from the Sublime to the Ridiculous

I’m not going to lie, Bangkok is not my favorite place. Granted, I have spent very little time there. I know people love it, but it’s not really for me. It’s a huge city with a lot going on all the time. The traffic is insane. Pollution is pretty bad. It makes Florida in the summer seem freezing cold. It does have incredible sights and smells. It is the superlative of many things in Thailand – biggest, most traffic, best schools, highest population, richest, etc. The underbelly of society is also alive and well, prostitution, sex shows, and bars full of ‘anything goes’.

My experience there is limited, but here are a few photos of my less than 3 days spent there with jet lag:

….

This was written before all the floods happened. My heart goes out to people who have suffered tremendous loss. Thai people are resilient. I am sure things will continue to improve.These pictures were taken in the beginning of September.

People ask if I have been affected by the flooding. I’ve been minimally inconvenienced – I’ve flown instead of taken a train, oh poor me. Nothing compared to some of the devastation that has wreaked havoc on others. On the upside I’ve had some lovely temporary students who were escaping up to Chiang Mai.

Enjoy some pre-flood photos:

The Grand Palace from the Chao Praya River

Wat PhoThe reclining Buddha at Wat PhoThe Reclining Buddha's footWat Pho roofA tuk tukMy standard breakfast - coffee, a fruit bowl with yogurtthe ubiquitous street food stallsWhy do these pictures get smaller each time? I do not know. It is not my intention.

Delicious fruit stalls

Fish Spa

I guess it's OK if you don't smoke alcohol

for my pal 80s style

The craziness near Khao San Rd

A lady feeding a street dog – the right way to treat animals

...and wrong.

This shows a miniscule picture of Bangkok through my myopic lens. I have not made any claims that I know much about Bangkok, as I just spent a few jet lagged days there. Not enough time to say much. I tend to be overwhelmed and have the need to escape after about 48 hours. On to the next places where I may have spent a bit more time.

Leave a Reply

